Kerri Kerley

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
ARTIST STATEMENT

An artist for 28 years, my career began in Advertising as a designer, typographer and illustrator, working with Ken Done, and several major advertising agencies in Sydney for many years.

 Whilst based in Sydney now, it was when travelling the outback of Australia in a caravan with my two very young children, I discovered my connection with this amazing country. My paintings are an extension of that experience and it is through my paintings I shape their story. Each piece carefully crafted and layered until just right.

 My use of colour is inspired by my love of Australia and it’s intense, textural and earthy palette and lends itself perfectly to my style and medium, with drawing the foundation of all my work, I endeavour to convey feeling and emotion through my subject’s eyes, thereby engaging the viewer. Painting is an emotional process for me and very personal. It is difficult to put into words; however, remains to be a constant exhilarating and spiritual journey of passion, perfection and self-discovery.

My paintings are in public and private collections both internationally and nationally.

 I have participated in numerous shows including The Art of Sydney Awards 2012 for which I was finalist for watercolour “Port Jackson Fig in Stone.” First prize for “inquisitive Mind” and commended for “Baby Owls for drawing at the Drummoyne Art Society 2013 awards, The Riverbank Gallery, Canowindra NSW, Studio W in Woolloomooloo Sydney and most recently my first solo exhibition “Spirit” at the Hunters Hill Art Gallery, Sydney May 2014.

You can view more of Kerri’s work on her website http://www.kerrikerley.com/

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPORT JACKSON FIG IN STONELOVE & LIGHTOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAINTENSE REDBalinese MonkeyOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

