Katie Selmes

Image

 

Is a 32 year old self taught artist born in Katoomba NSW. At 6 her family relocated to beautiful Port Macquarie, where Katie grew up and eventually had my three sons (also her 3 biggest art fans) that she independently raises. After the birth of her 3rd son she moved her family to Newcastle then ventured to a very small town out west -Trangie for a few years and then made her way back to Newcastle. 
 Katie has been painting since she was 14 years old. Katie says ” I remember learning about Kandinsky and it was like the artist inside of me was switched on and Ive been painting like crazy ever since.
Painting for me has always just been an instinct, an extension of my personality. I like to look at each work as a diary entry from my life and experiences. My style can be described as a little bit wacky and unique. Abstract painting is my absolute passion, it’s always allowed me to express myself through the use of line, form and colour, and when I paint a majority of my works come together pretty fast and furiously. I always try and challenge myself and my ideas about art through the style that I paint. My painting ideas and styles are always evolving and changing. I always describe that time where I am painting as my own kind of meditation”.
In 2013 Katie nervously entered her first art competition “Newcastle Emerging Artist Prize”. One of Katie’s entries was chosen for the exhibition. Katie says “Seeing my work up on a wall at an exhibition is one my the most exciting and rewarding experiences so far. I am slowly dipping my toes in to the world of selling my art work and am elated at the love people have shown towards my paintings.I’d like to be seen as a totally one of a kind artist with fresh, inspiring and creative ideas”.
Katie keeps this quote by Andy Warhol as a personal mantra.
“Don’t think about making art, just get it done. Let everyone else decide if it’s good or bad, whether they love or hate it. While they are deciding, make even more art.” ANDY WARHOL.

LINKS: Facebook page-https://www.facebook.com/artbykatieselmes
Instagram-http://instagram.com/katieselmes

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Katie Selmes

Leave a Reply

