Lorraine Brown

ImageLorraine says, “I am on an exciting journey with Water-colours and often add other media for that little bit of spice. 
It can be risky, due to its unique and unexpected results when pigment fuses with water. Anything can happen and there are lots of opportunities to experiment and almost be a pioneer discovering something new. Timing to create something from the opportunities presented is everything. 

Taking risks and pioneering is nothing new to me, I started at an early age in primary school when I chose to play a trumpet even though only the boys played brass instruments. By secondary school I was the only girl playing in an all boys high school brass band. I was the youngest and only girl trumpet player in the London Youth Orchestra in the mid 60’s and the list goes on. In my teens I was performing solo at cabarets around the state and this too was risky as my accompaniment bands were only introduced to me moments before I took to the stage.

My business life was full of risk, all about challenges and timing running my own retail music products business for more than 25 years.

In 2011 I took a full time approach to my painting having my first group SALA exhibition in August 2011 where I sold 4 paintings which was such a thrill and gave me confidence to continue. I have since exhibited in Rotary art shows with pleasing results, and I have had my paintings exhibited at Off the Slate Gallery in Willunga and currently in Art at Goolwa. 

I have had 2 solo exhibitions in 2013 and the preparation for both of these really had me focused.

Several times a week I blog about my art which keeps me in touch with like minded artists all over the world. I have an active face book page and maintain my own website.

My paintings are in private collections in Australia, UK, Spain, Austria and the USA

I paint everyday and my style is evolving. I call it expressive impressions as I endeavour to capture the essence of a subject not a photographic likeness. The key ingredient is watercolour but my experimenting adding other media, playing with creating texture, taking risks and going anyway my imagination leads me has me hooked.

Exhibitions and Awards

2013
December      Feature Artist at Art@Goolwa
October          Summer Art Fest 2nd place for Me and Mum
October          South Australian Watercolour Society at Mt. Surmon Wines Clare
September      Solo exhibition “Wild Faces” Bremerton Wines Langhorne Creek SA
August            SALA  – Open Studio,  Studio One3One
May/June      Solo Exhibition “Go With the Flow” Hagen Arms Hotel Echunga SA
May/June      Save Our Gulf Coalition Exhibition Port Noarlunga SA
April               Rotary Show Goolwa
January         Rotary Show Victor Harbor
Jan-April       Off the Slate Gallery Willunga
2012
August            SALA on Sale Marquee Adelaide
April               Alexandrina Art Prize
April               Ibis Garden Gallery Goolwa
Mch-Dec        Off the Slate Gallery Willunga
January         Rotary Show Victor Harbor
2011
August            SALA Hindmarsh Island Group Show

ImageImageImageImageyouImage You can view more of Lorraine’s work on her website at http://lorrainebrownwatercolours.com/workszoom/1357970

or her Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/LorraineBrownWatercolours?sk=photos_stream

 

Leave a Reply

